Establishment of Organisation

The Education and Training Boards Act, 2013, provided for the dissolution of 33 Vocational Education Committees (VECs) and for the establishment of 16 Education and Training Boards (ETBs) in their place on 1 July 2013.  Upon establishment, Waterford and Wexford ETB assumed responsibility for the delivery of the post-primary and further education services, previously provided by former County Waterford VEC, City of Waterford VEC and County Wexford VEC.


The Further Education and Training Act was signed into law in July 2013.  The Act provided for the establishment of SOLAS and the dissolution of FÁS.  The legislation also provided for the gradual transfer of FÁS training centres and training staff to the newly formed Education and Training Boards.  In accordance with this, on 1 July 2014, WWETB officially welcomed the addition of Waterford and Wexford Training Centres to their range of services.



Top of Page