Coláiste Chathail Naofa All Ireland Vollyball Winners

January 25, 2016

Pictured above is the Winning team: Back Row: Raph Britton, Domantas Jokubauskis, Adam Power, Dylan Swales, Matteo Divetta, Davin Flynn, Kieran Lannen  Front Row:- Soren Konig,  Evan McKenna, Dermot Lannen, Ray Brennan, Aurimas Pocius.


Colaiste Chathail Naofa Cadette Volleyball team won their first All-Ireland in University College Dublin on Thursday last. Following brilliant wins over last few weeks over teams from Waterford, Galway and Laois the players saved their best performance for the final against Portlaoise College.

The first set was a one sided affair from the off with CCN winning 25 – 13. This was due to excellent serving and service receive by all seven players that played in the set. The second set was much closer with Portlaoise in the lead for the majority of the set. It was not until the latter stages that CCN took control again with excellent serving and ran out winners 25 – 23.

It is a historic win for CCN as it was our sixth All-Ireland volleyball final in the last 9 years but the first victory. There were brilliant scenes at the end of the second set with players, supporters and parents embracing each other. After the game Dylan Swales, captain was presented the winner’s trophy. To cap off the day Domantas Jokubauskis was awarded player of the match by the judging panel. We hope that they will be the first of many All Ireland trophies for CCN.

Go back